Readin’ in the Rain

Singin.JPGBased on the iconic 1952 MGM movie, Singin’ in the Rain has been adapted as a smash hit stage musical, which has been a big splash with audiences since its West End premiere in 2012. After its Melbourne season it has just opened Sydney before touring to other capital cities.

Good Reading caught up with a couple of the stars last week and asked them about their reading habits.

Adam

Leading man, Grant Almirall, is a lover of fantasy and sci-fi. ‘Not the “normal” fantasy like “Lord of the Rings”, so much,’ he told gr. ‘At the moment I’m reading Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke and loving it. I also love Batman and stuff like that. And I never travel without a heap of graphic novels.’

Erika Haynatz, recently seen in Legally Blonde and The Rocky Horror Show, plays the vapid, silent movie star whose glass-shattering screeching voice does not suit the ‘talkies’. ‘I read a lot when I was pregnant last year,’ she said. ‘I don’t get much time at the moment, but as I’m staying up on the northern beaches during the run, I’ve decided I’m going to listen to some talking books as I wind down during the long drive home.’ Then she added, ‘Oh yes, I’m also reading Dr Becker Bailey’s I Love You Rituals, which will help me develop my son’s creativity. It’s really inspiring.’

If you loved the original movie – and who didn’t? – you won’t be disappointed with this spectacular live show. It uses 12 000 litres of recycled water in the ‘Singin’ in the Rain’ finale to act one – but you’ll need to wear a poncho (supplied) if you’re lucky enough to sit in the front three rows of the stalls!

sing

Leave a Reply

