5 of My Favourite Books

I always find it a dilemma when people ask me what my most favourite book is. How can I choose just one? There are so many! So as a start I’ve selected five of some of my favourite books to share with you. Let me know what five of your favourites are.

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini because it is so moving and so well written.
Unreliable Memoirs by Clive James because I couldn’t help but laugh out loud in cafes and buses.
My Fortunate Life by A B Facey as it gives an insight into Australia’s history and a man who had an amazing life. Full of resilience and adventure.
The Lord of the Rings by J R R Tolkien (this could be cheating as really it’s 3 books) because it brought my imagination alive for me as a teenager. I truly marvel at what a complex world Tolkein built.
That Pesky Rat by Lauren Child just because it’s so clever and such fun. It’s for ages 5+ and you’ll be saying ‘that pesky rat!’ for weeks afterward!

Your turn!

5 Favourite Reads

5 Favourite Reads

12 responses to “5 of My Favourite Books

  1. 1. An Imaginary Life by David Malouf – and please don’t stab me with pitchforks, those of you who had to study it for the HSC.
    2. Tess of the d’Urbervilles. “Did it never occur to you that what every woman says some women may feel?” The man needs an award just for writing that about rape, srsly. In the 19th century, no less. Also, it’s just a brilliant novel.
    3. The Magic in The Weaving by Tamora Pierce is one of those books that crept up and changed my world. I love the rest of the series, but I can’t separate that one from nostalgia even now.
    4. The Harp in the South – Ruth Park. Needs no explanation: it’s got absolutely divine description.
    5. I’m going to cheat here and say Emily Rodda’s enchanting Rowan of Rin series.

    Honourable mentions go to Memoirs of a Geisha and The Secret Garden.

    • Oh, and LotR was intended to be one book until JRRT’s publisher convinced him to split it into three, chiefly because of the cost of printing during the war. So, yes, it totally counts.

  2. There is no possible way I can choose just five favourites of all time, but here are five favourites from the 93 books I have read so far this year;
    Dark Horse by Honey Brown
    The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty
    The Wild Girl by Kate Forsyth
    Life After Life by Kate Atkinson
    Web of Deceit by Katherine Howell

  3. Miss Smillas feeling for snow, by Peter Hoeg, Sunshine by Robyn McKinley, Lord Fouls Bane by Stephen Donaldson, Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie and Magician by Raymond Feist. Three are books I read before I was fifteen, the other two are written so well, the words just flow across the page. All I’ve reread repeatedly.

  4. Lonesome Dove, by Larry McMurtry. Best western I’ve ever read.
    To Kill A Mockingbird, by Harper Lee. A remarkable examination of what is beautiful and terrible in human nature.
    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, by Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows. So much more than a post-war narrative.
    Pride & Prejudice, by Jane Austen. Two words: Mr Darcy.
    Anne of Green Gables, by LM Montgomery. A delightful, touching tale of adolescence for all of Anne Shirley’s “kindred spirits”.

  5. I don’t think I could narrow it down! There are so many but five of my favourites are probably:

    The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett – one of the first novels I ever got, and one that got me into reading

    The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe by CS Lewis – many attempts to find Narnia have been undertaken over the years and I still haven’t been successful, but I loved the story and Aslan

    Inkheart by Cornelia Funke – to me by far the superior of the trilogy and my favourite of all three. It spoke to me as a reader.

    The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien – Hobbits, dragons, orcs. a journey, and magic. I just love Middle Earth

    Sappho by Marguerite Johnson – written by a university lecturer I came to know quite well, this book is a favourite and one I turn to when people try to tell me about Sappho based on rumours they assume to be true, Never challenge a classicist who researched this figure extensively and wrote an entire book on her! 🙂

    Ashleigh Meikle

  6. Enchanted April by Elizabeth von Arnim.
    A Story of Seven Summers by Hilary Burden
    Daisy Fay and The Miracle Man by Fannie Flagg
    The Bonesetter’s Daughter by Amy Tan
    where Children Sleep by James Mollison. If this coffee table book doesn’t knock you sideways and make you think, I don’t know what will, it’s not a book for small children, but one I think everyone else should have a look at!

Leave a Reply

