Bring back to Penguincubator!

Pam, a gr reader who is obsessed with all things about Penguin Books, has sent us in a image of a Penguincubator! Simply slot in $2 and out pops a random Penguin book!

Pam says,’I got a copy of the photo from the Penguin Archives last Feb when I visited them at Bristol University in England. There are a few of them left in private hands, even the archives does not have one and they’re worth a fortune.’

Maybe we should start a petition to get Penguin to start reproducing them again? They’d have to still be $2 though!

If you’d like to read more about Penguin Pam’s Penguinisity  you can check out her blog here.

I collect some books too. I have a small collection of limited edition leather bound books that I treasure. I also have a collection of old hardcover books with gilded covers. I just love the way they look and feel. I don’t mind what the book is about. I just love to look at these wonderful works of art. Although I have often been surprised that I’ve enjoyed what was on the inside just as much as the outside. I wish publishers would return to this style of design for books. They are so beautiful and make a library to die for.

Do you have a special collection of books? We’d love to hear about them!

3 responses to “Bring back to Penguincubator!

  1. Simply awesome. I love the fact that they’ve chosen a name that is just a little bit too difficult to say to really catch on. Someone obviously had a great idea and couldn’t let it go:
    “It’s like an incubator, but for Penguin books! Get it? It’s a Penguincubator!”
    “Mmm. I get it, but it’s a bit of a mouthful don’t you think? Why not something like The Book Belcher, or The Paperback Peddlar?”
    “No. It’s a Penguincubator.”
    “Sigh….”

Leave a Reply

