What to read next?

It’s always a dilemma when deciding what to read next. I have to think, ‘What do I really feel like?’ When I have to read a book for some reason or other, I often don’t get into it. I find myself drifting off thinking about the days events or what I have on my plate for the following day.

But a book came across my desk yesterday that piqued my interest. It’s called The Haunted Book by Jeremy Dyson. I’m tempted for sure. It looks a bit different. Maybe a bit spooky. I really like the cover. It certainly makes me want to open it.

I’m not really into being scared when reading at night, but I have Baxter, and his role of security officer does extend to his home too.

The publisher’s website says ‘You will never forget this. No matter how hard you try.’

Got me!

PS Have now planted corn, pumpkin (you can get baby ones now) and cucumbers. I have to check every day to see if Baxter has trodden on the seedlings. But all good so far!

5 responses to “What to read next?

  1. I’d like to know how people choose too. I have so many books on my to-be-read bookshelf that I simply wander over, stare at it for a while, and pick something I feel like … but most people aren’t me. I’d really like to know how most people are influenced – is it word of mouth? reviews? pretty covers? habit? Please let me know 🙂

  2. I tend to pick something different to what I’ve just read – e.g. a crime book after a historical fiction. I, like Kate, have a big to-be-read bookshelf and tend to pick based on my mood. Reviews from other (friends, family, people in the book store, bloggers, Twitterers) also give me lots of books for the wishlist! I’m influenced by pretty covers too, although if I love an author I’ll pick up their book regardless.

  3. Is it just me, or does anyone else find perverse pleasure in discovering a new book and then being the FIRST to place a hold on it in the Brisbane Library system? Yes, my friends, this book is currently on order at the library, and if you’re wondering who’s in front of you in the holds queue, it’s ME!!!! And to answer your original question, it’s has to be a follow your gut instinct decision…allow the Muse of Book Choosing to guide you.

  4. That book looks awesome Rowena! I must add it to my to-read list. I struggle to find books that really grab me. I will enjoy them but it just feels like going through the motions, instead of staying with me hours or days (even years!) after I have read them.

Leave a Reply

